The History of Narrogin

Narrogin is a large, progressive town which lies in the Wheatbelt area of Western Australia. The town is situated about 192 kilometres south-east of Perth’s city centre. Historically, Narrogin was one of the most prominent railway operation hubs in Western Australia.

The name ‘Narrogin’ is Aboriginal in origin, and was first noted as ‘Narroging’, the name of a pool in the region in 1869. The name’s meaning is for the most part a mystery, but theories include meanings of ‘plenty of everything’, ‘bat camp’, or the name stemming from the Aboriginal ‘gnargagin’, which translates to ‘the place of water’. The area first became home to European settlers in the 1860’s, when pastoralists chose to settle in a number of remote outposts. A few years later in 1897, Narrogin was officially proclaimed a town, and was shortly proclaimed as a municipality in 1906.

The Narrogin Race and Pace Club

The Narrogin Cup event is one of Narrogin’s main attractions, drawing many local and interstate spectators and runners each year. The event is held at the Narrogin Race and Pace racing club, which is also known simply as the Narrogin Racecourse. The Narrogin Race and Pace Club was formed as an amalgamation of the Narrogin Turf Club and the Narrogin Harness Racing Club, who both operated on the premises.

The History of the Club

The concept of horse racing in Narrogin began in 2007, when the Narrogin Turf Club and the Narrogin Harness Racing Club requested a meeting with the purpose of determining how to best utilise their shared facilities. In 2008, the clubs were formally combined to create the Narrogin Race and Pace Club, which operates at the Narrogin Racecourse and is credited with being the first racing club in Western Australia to incorporate both harness and thoroughbred racing activities.

The track at Narrogin Racecourse has a circumference of 838.6 metres, and holds a home straight of 158 metres. All races on the track are run in an anti-clockwise direction.

Narrogin Cup Race at Narrogin Racecourse

Together with best online pokies Australia, The Narrogin Cup race is a race for horses 3 years old or older, and contains no class or sex restrictions. The race is also a handicap, and offers $70,000 in prize money to its winners. In 2015, the Narrogin Cup racing event was held on Sunday the 19th of April. The XXXX Gold-Narrogin Cup (Bm72+) was just one of nine separate races held on the day. The Narrogin Cup race was positioned at race 8 on the day, and was run at a distance of 1,900 metres. In 2015, the race was won by jockey Jordan Turner and horse Dabang. Takahide Ikenushi and Frangipani Monster came in second, with Ben Paterson and Pharomac claiming third place.

Other Races on the Day

Other races held on the day of the Narrogin Cup event included the Cafe 27 Maiden, which was the opening race run at 930 metres, and the Ray White Narrogin Maiden, which followed as Race 2 and was run over 1,720 metres. A 1,190 metre Best Office Systems N’gin Maiden, a 1,190 metre Hillcroft Farms Maiden, a Re/Max Investments Handicap of the same distance, a Landmark Narrogin Handicap (C1) of 930 metres, a Skyracing.Tv (Bm58+) race of 1,190 metres and an Ike Kempton Memorial (Bm58+) of 1,720 metres also took place at the event.